Where The Wicked Read.... My Spot To Talk About, Review, Share My Love Of Books, and Anything Else That Comes To Mind..

Friday, June 11, 2010

Review: Dream Thief... By. Shana Abe'

Heidi Cheramie

The Dream Thief Review
Shana Abe’-Author

The Dream Thief


The Dream Thief is the second fantasy romance in the Dra’kon series by Shana Abe’. Each of the Dra’kon books is a stand alone book but the characters do flow from book to book. These are fascinating stories and the society of shape shifting creatures that can shift from human to dragon and back again are bewitching.

The Dream Thief is the story of Lady Amalia Langford, daughter of the drak’on clan’s Alpha. Also it is Zane’s story, the King of the Thieves who is quite prosperous. Zane is the only human who knows about the Dra’kon’s. The dra’kon of Darkfirth have used his abilities many times in the past to assist them.

Zane is an interesting hero who can go either way. He is a thief who loves what he does, and has endured a horrendous childhood that taught him to survive by his wits and his skills. He can become dark or light.

Amalia is a dra’kon who is a disappointment to herself. A dragon princess unable to shift that feels she has no abilities. However Amalia can hear the future. That future rests in the hands of the thief, Zane. Amalia, also can hear the haunting ballad of the dreaming diamond called the Draumr. This gem has the power to enslave the dra’kon. The future Amalia hears can go two ways and her future is full Zane. Amalia runs away from her clan to help Zane find and steal the legendary dreaming diamond. Whoever possesses the diamond can control the dragon shifting people. In one future Zane is Amalia’s ally and in another he is her overlord. But in both futures he is her lover. As the Draumr sings her a haunting ballad, Zane and Amalia embark on a dangerous quest to retrieve the gem. Zane for money and power. Amalia for her life.

This is a wonderful romantic fantasy that takes us on an exciting adventure to many exotic places including the Carpathian Mountains. The closed world of the dragon society in 19th century England with it’s rigid rules and punishments also flavors this series. I would definitely read the Dra’kon series in order beginning with the Smoke Thief. Presently Shana Abe’ has completed the fifth book is this enthralling series and I will read every one. I encourage everyone to indulge themselves in this wonderful fantasy world of shape shifting dragons-the Drakon Society! Happy reading! I give this book 4 1/2 stars

Product Details

Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages

Publisher: Bantam (August 28, 2007)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 0553588052

ISBN-13: 978-0553588057

Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 5.3 x 1 inches

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so feel free to comment all you like :)